Spring Around the Corner

WP_000299In just a few days, spring will be here. Today, though, was a cold, somewhat blustery day with snow flurries. I love snow; but I like it December through February, not March. Not when daffodils have popped through the ground and grown to their full glory of butter-colored, lovely, sunshiny goodness.

Working from home today, I wanted to take advantage of being able to walk at lunchtime without worrying about needing a shower when I’m finished. Our park has a 2 mile fitness trail (meaning some moderately steep and long hills) that meanders through and over the woods and, since I am trying to get back to fitness, I thought that would be a nice challenge for me today.

But the temperature wasn’t even 40. It wasn’t even 39, or 38. I sent a quick text to my kids in far away places to tell them I’d hoped to walk but the weather was cold with snow flurries. Always one to encourage me, my older son quickly messaged back that I shouldn’t let that stop me. “Bundle up and go for it, Mom. You’ll be glad you did.” Knowing that I’d rather walk in 40 degrees than 75 degrees, I also knew he was right. I didn’t get this blog name from nothing, you know.

He was right, indeed. I quickly warmed and even pulled the scarf from my neck. My husband went along with me and we enjoyed spending the time together and encouraging one another.   We talked so much that neither of us felt the challenge of those hills. And, when finished, we both felt energized and refreshed.

Back home, out of the cold and warm and snug again, I started thinking about tonight’s dinner.  I realized that today’s blustery weather was the perfect day for soup and probably one of the last days, if not the last day, that would be what I call a good soup day (until next fall and winter).

Our dinner tonight was a creamy, cheesy, cauliflower bowl of warmth and goodness. My daughter made it a few nights ago and said it was delicious. We had both pinned it on Pinterest a while back so, see, here is proof that all that time sitting with the laptop in our laps isn’t for naught. It was quick, easy, and I had all the ingredients on hand.  In fact, if  you keep a head of cauliflower in the fridge, the list of ingredients uses only staples.

I had planned to take a picture but got so excited about eating it that I ladled it into an ugly bowl and started eating before I remembered my plan. I’ll post a picture tomorrow when I’m having it again for lunch in a pretty bowl. In the meantime, here is a link to the original recipe and its creator: http://www.fitsugar.com/Healthy-Cheese-Soup-26987567.